Sabudana Kichdi #FastingDiaries

Sabudana Kichdi is one of my favorite go-to recipes when I’m either fasting or I’m craving a light bite. Sabudana Kichdi is often made during Hindu festivals such as monthly sankashtiNavratri or Mahashivatri. This dish is so simple to make, you will be surprised to learn how easy this is! It’s delicious and my all time favourite.

Here’s what you’l need: 
1. 1 cup sago/sabudana
2. 1 boiled Potato cubes
3. 2 Chopped green Chillies
4. 2 tbs crushed roasted Peanuts
5. 1 tsp cumin seeds
6. 1/2 teaspoon grated ginger
7. 2 tbs ghee
8. 1 tbs fresh grated coconut
9. Salt to taste
10.1tsp sugar

In a large bowl, soak 1 cup of Sabudana in just enough water for around 30 minutes. Next, drain the Sabudana well in a strainer and allow it to rest for 4-5 hrs or overnight is usually better.

Heat 2 tbsp of Ghee in a kadai. Add 1 tsp of Cumin seeds and sauté until they turn aromatic. Add 2 chopped green chillies and some grated ginger and sauté well. Add some chopped boiled potatoes and sauté for 2 minutes. Now, add the drained Sago, along with 3 tbsp of roasted & crushed peanuts and stir well. Add 1 tsp of sugar and salt to taste. Be sure to mix well to avoid the sago from sticking to the bottom of the pan.

Now, cover with the lid and simmer for around 3 minutes. Remove the lid and cook for another 3-5 mins until sago gets cooked well. Add a few drops of lime juice and garnish with fresh grated coconut.

You’re done! Enjoy.

For more information: Follow my FB page “What’s my Plate all about” and my instagram page @sanikaskitchen

Like, comment and share my page if you enjoyed the recipes!

unnamed-12.jpg

One thought on “Sabudana Kichdi #FastingDiaries

  1. Beautiful kichdi ! I have never satisfied with my preparation, please give me some tips to make dry sago kichdi. And I have a question, why does it require to be kept without water for few hours?

    Like

Leave a comment